The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Used to balance the power among powerful countries, nuclear weapons can help a country sustain their independent and powerful images. While benefits from such technology in terms of clean energy might not be accepted by many people, I held an opposite belief, clearly disagreeing with such an idea. Nuclear weapons are symbolic as a strength and power for that particular country. Not only these weapons held significantly powerful meanings, but also the impact of them was powerful enough to destroy a whole country. It is true that this type of innovation is complex and requires extra care, thus, owning such dangerous weapons within a country is considered risky. However, A country without such impactful technology can be considered as weak and dependent. For example, North Korea,an isolated yet independent country, stated about their nuclear experiments in order to show its power to the United States. North Korea’s nuclear experiments terrified many people around the world, and this may be one of the reasons why other countries avoid conflicts with this communist country. On the other hand, nuclear power is powerful enough to generate electricity. Despite the tragedy that could happen from the exploitation of such power plants such as the Chernobyl exploitation. Some researchers claimed nuclear power plants generate less pollution compared to coal or fossil oil power plants. Able to produce a substantial amount of electricity, the power plants will perform best under a strictly controlled environment and provide valuable resources. In conclusion, keeping in mind the negative consequences that could happen if nuclear weapons and nuclear power plants were loosely controlled, I believed that the advantages outweigh disadvantages.