Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, many commuters take lots of time on their way to the workplace or school. Although there may be some positive sides to this development, I strongly believe it is mostly negative. There are only a few couples of the benefits that people could possibly gain from having to spend a large amount of time travelling to and from the workplace or school, which are related to these people who commute via public transport. Firstly, travelling on public transport can provide more time for commuters to get things done that they have been busy to complete, for instance, some school kids have to spend up to one hour travel by bus every day and this a great opportunity for them to get their homework or projects done. Likewise, some adults may use this time to catch up on some uncompleted work on their laptops or plan their schedule for the day. Furthermore, sitting on a bus or train while reading a book can be relaxing. However, not all people can take advantage of these benefits. For example, in Vietnam, only a small percentage of people use public transport and therefore have no chance to read a book or catch up on work. Instead, most of them suck in a traffic jam during rush hours sitting on a motorbike breathing in toxic fumes from other vehicles, which in the long term can lead to a number of serious health issues. Additionally, spending more and more time commuting leaves less time for other important activities. To sum up, I believe that it is a negative development however it really depends upon how people spend their time while travelling.