More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating

Nowadays, almost all businesses, in fact everyone prefer technology for informal and formal communication and they are unlikely to communicate in person. Though technology has brought a revolutionary change in the mode of communication and made it more convenient, this may make people unsociable. Firstly, using digital things can save individuals time and cost. To illustrate this, you do not have to go to a particular place to meet with someone rather you can talk to them by staying at home. For example, freelancers are getting jobs and conducting meetings online, which proves that communication through technology is much easier. Another benefit of this is that you can talk to people from another corner of the world within seconds by using technology. In other words, today people use social networking sites like WhatsApp to communicate with their near and dear one's who lives in distant places. On the other hand, although technology -based communication has numerous advantages, it has some drawbacks too. The first one is that it makes people less sociable. For example, a recent survey showed that the individuals who prefer to have online friends than an offline partner, feel shy and uncomfortable while talking to a person by face to face. In addition, their online friends may be frauds and if it happens, they will not have any reliable person in real life to express their feelings and sufferings. For this reason, it can also impact adversely in their mental health. To conclude, we can say that technology -based communication is not an unmixed blessing for us and it has both merits and demerits.