Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that traditional and religious festivals have been a part of nations' heritage, but nowadays, individuals seem to not properly enjoy those important celebrations. This essay totally agrees with this statement, I believe that people have forgotten the true meaning of these ceremonies. First of all, the recent breakthroughs in technology have changed people's lives forever, society, friendships and even families are not seen as they used to, human beings now tend to care less about their community's legacy and their spiritual side and start thinking only about themselves and this due to the way the internet, smartphones as well as laptop that have impacted the mentality of individuals, they helped in one way or another selfishness to grow like never before in our society, and as a result, humans seem to not enjoy their traditions and their religions' rituals. Secondly, another reason is that life has become more expensive than ever, therefore, people now concentrate on means to make money, for example, their career or their business and spend most of their day trying to get enough income to afford their needs. Moreover, globalization gave people the opportunity to look at the way other foreigners live and they do not necessarily have the same traditions and values which can make people lose interest in their own beliefs and try to copy others not knowing the true meaning of their traditions and festivals and how it kept society and legacy alive for that long. To conclude, there are convincing arguments both for and against the statement; however, I believe that people forgot the true meaning of their traditions