In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

The world has witnessed the rapid development of technology, affecting all aspects of daily life, particularly in payment. In my opinion, payments will be all made online one day, and there are many factors why people may dislike this change. One reason why cash may eventually become obsolete is due to the widespread adoption of smartphones. Thanks to the application, nowadays banks, money, and phones can be linked together to complete payment in just a few seconds, making transactions faster, more secure, and more convenient. This switch starts at one point then expands rapidly, and currently becomes the major paying method in some developed and developing countries. As the connection between life and technology become tighter, I believe online payment will take the place of cash in the future. While some people are not ready to embrace this change because it can influence their life. The poor must be taken into consideration. People with low income may find it challenging to have a convincing credit report, without which the bank will not issue a card to them. They don’t have access to smartphones as well, let alone pay in a modern way. They cannot afford the sudden change which may have negative impacts on their daily life, ultimately making them feel lost. Finally, it is essential to consider that some people may not be comfortable with electronic payment methods, particularly older generations who are less familiar with the technology. They are so accustomed to their previous habits that they are less likely or hesitate to make a direct change. For example, my grandpa enjoys chatting with shop owners while waiting for the charge. Such change will deprive their happiness. Even though they are willing to make a change, it is possible that they must spend much more time learning and get used to it, making them feel reluctant and unsatisfied. To sum up, given the fast development of technology recently, I do believe that cards or phones will take the place of traditional cash. However, the fact should be acknowledged that some people will be unhappy with the change.