In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some educationists might claim that children can have unlimited potential to do anything, whereas some psychologists think expressing this kind of message to young kids can lead to low self-esteem if they fail at doing something or have few resources to do so. In the following essay, I would elaborate further on the viewpoints from both sides. The major disadvantage of telling pupils that they're unlimited and are able to be succeeded after hard work is the mental stress. To be realistic, adults themselves may not hold the same faith in trying something that is beyond their ability. Resources such as money or time should be taken into consideration. Likewise, young kids may face the same hurdles while trying something. Once they fail, they might turn to blaming themselves instead of measuring the current situation or resources they have wisely. For example, in Taiwan, doctor is always the best job option as for its noble social status, many parents, who are doctors themselves, force their offspring to get into medical college by taking exams again and again regardless of the children's will. In other words, These parents are obviously wasting these adolescents' time on something they are not good at, leading them to suffer much pressure or even psychological illness. On the other hand, some parents might claim that giving children an infinitive concept of exploring everything can help with growing their confidence. For instance, pupils can be failed at doing something they're not familiar with, and then become reluctant to try it again out of frustration. If adults comfort them by telling them so in time, they might be willing to try again. After some practice and experience, they are more likely to nail it and gain high self-esteem at facing difficulties in the future. In conclusion, Although these so-called white lies might actually help with growing adolescents' personalities and resilience, I believe it is hard to strike a balance on it. It should be told and used with wisdom depending on the kids' characteristics.