Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent high school education has not been the story of knowledge only, but it has also been designed to equip children with practical experience so that they can grow in terms of both talent and morality. Consequently, it is believed that voluntary work should be compulsory for high school students. I totally concur with this notion because of the huge extent of the impact it may have. Firstly, it cannot be denied that working for an unpaid service develops a sense of ‘giving’ for students. Obviously, taking part in volunteering provides children with chances to witness different living conditions such as lonely old people, or children with impairment. This makes children empathetic towards people with difficulties. Secondly, activities in charities or non-profit organizations will help students develop their soft skills. For example, some activities involve the process of event organizing or fundraising, through which students can learn how to conduct an event or acquire sponsorship from the community. As a result, these skill sets can be preferable for their later activities at university or help them with their future career. On the other hand, if schools put unpaid social service as an optional choice, some students may never choose to do that. This is because students tend to prioritize their studies first. Nevertheless, bombarding with lots of studies is sometimes counterproductive because students can easily burn out. Therefore, this kind of service will prove that life is not about homework and exams only, and bring them tremendous experiences. Additionally, it helps them expand their network, which can be helpful for them in the future. Some events have the participation of students from different schools, hence they can have opportunities to make contact with like-minded friends or peers to support each other in their studies. In a nutshell, besides the main mission of study, students had better join in unpaid social activities as a mandatory activity so that they can develop empathy and soft skills.