Nowadays food travels thousands of miles before reaching consumers. It affects the agriculture and economy of the destination country, and for this reason, people should prefer food produced by local farmers. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your experience.

Food is an essential item needed for the survival of humanity as it is one of the basic needs of life. In times past, people produced their own food within their location without relying on imported food. However, with the advent of globalisation, there have been a rise in the consumption of food items made from other countries. This implies that the distance food substances travel in order to get to their consumers have greatly increased and because of this the agricultural and economic sectors of the countries involved are affected. Due to this, communities are encouraged to consume food products produced locally by their farmers. I agree with this proposition because of some reasons which I will be stating Change the form of the verb stated show examples in this essay. Firstly, it promotes economic growth for the nation. The economic state of any nation is largely influenced by the quantity of what they import or export and when there is more importation than exportation, the economy may tilt towards the negative side of the scale. Encouraging individuals to consume locally sourced foods means that there will be increase in demand and the farmers can produce more with less cost and therefore, will not have to depend on imported food to meet their agricultural and feeding needs. Some of the surplus may even be exported in order to generate revenue for the country. For example, Nigeria was known to have had a better economy when it produced most of its food locally unlike recently where most of the food items are sourced from other countries. Secondly, food produced locally by farmers are gotten at their natural states with less preservatives. Due to the increased time these food items have to spend on transit, some agents are added to them so as to preserve them and prolong their shelf life. These agents may be injurious to the health of its consumers whereas for locally manufactured foods, little or no preservatives are needed as the transit time between the consumer and producer is shortened. For instance, some green leaf vegetables are processed and packaged in order to be transported to different nations whereas the same vegetables can be gotten from the local farmers when it is most natural and untampered with. In conclusion, I am in agreement with the idea that people should consume foods produced locally because it positively influences the economy and agriculture of the region and also makes food available in its most natural state.