Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is the case that high school students should be involved in unpaid community services as a compulsory part of high school programmes. I totally agree with this view, and will give my reasons below. Life skills are very important and by doing volunteer work, students can develop their communication ability with others, collaboration in a team, time management and organizational skill improvement. However, after-school activities no longer exist, most of the students come back home to watch television, play online games or browse the internet. If students have activities to do, they will not be bored and come up with silly ideas which can be dangerous for them or their surroundings. As a result, it could also possibly reduce the crime level in the high school age group. By giving students compulsory work activities with charitable and community organizations, they are encouraged to be more creative. Skills gained through compulsory work will not only asset on their CV but also increase their future employability. In addition, they gain more respect towards work and money as they realize that it is not easy to earn them and hopefully will learn to spend them in a more practical way. Another reason is that healthy life balance and exercise are strongly promoted by the National Health Service. Doing volunteer work in their spare time prevents them from sitting and doing nothing, but it could help them grow their physical and mental health thanks to unpaid work such as teaching sports for younger children or helping to clean up the houses for elderly people in near places. In conclusion, I think this is a very good idea and I hope this programme will be put into action for high schools shortly