Walking is known to be beneficial for health yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reason for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Exercise on daily basis like walking is beneficial to our health. However, recently, people spend less time on walking due to the advancement of transportation and technology and this may lead to the rise of several diseases like obesity.As the situation is alarming, both government and schools need to take steps to alleviate the problem. Regarding the reasons why fewer people are walking these days, the most significant reason popping into mind is that people are more relying on transportation than ever. People, especially those living in the city, lead a hectic life and treasure efficiency. With the well-developed transportation system, people can travel anywhere easily by different means like buses and trains,which are very convenient. This in turn, changes the habit of people and most of them would prefer using public transportation over walking even though they travel to somewhere within a walking distance. Besides, with the advancement of technology, people would rather glue their eyes to the computer screen or mobile screen for a long period of time than go out or do outdoor activities. They spend long hours sitting in front of their work desk and computer and they have low motivation in going out after work and seldom do walking exercises. When they walk, they may find that it is difficult and they may easily get fatigued due to lack of training in the past. In order to tackle this problem, both government and schools can take several steps to increase public awareness of this issue. Government may rise public awareness and educate citizens through television advertisements and launching campaigns that promote health. People should know that walking is a kind of simple exercise and it may improve people's cardiovascular function if people are able to walk more than 30 mins every day. At school, teachers should not only focus on students' academic performance, they should also pay attention to students ' physical development. They should help students to cultivate exercise habits by lengthening the duration of physical education classes or encouraging students to join different extracurricular sports activities after school. Once students build up better fitness at school, they may no longer think that walking is demanding and they will walk more in daily life. In conclusion, as people nowadays seldom walk and it may bring a negative impact on people's health, both government and schools should be responsible for promoting health and exercise habits in order to rise public attention to this issue.