Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Films and video games with violent sounds and graphics are gaining tremendous interest from the audience. Some argue that those media contents should be restricted as they have disturbing effects on the public. On the other hand, others state that they should be viewed purely for entertainment purposes only. In this essay, we will discuss both sides of the argument. The main reason why people tend to be more attracted to action and horror movies is that they are full of uncertainties, adventures, and thrillers. Those types of films normally associate with loud and violent content materials to make their story plots more interesting. People think of themselves as the main lead, predicting the twist and turns of story plots, and it is very exhilarating if their imagination coincides with what the movie really turns out like. Similarly, playing violent computer games such as shooting is more exciting and fulfilling after accomplishing the game’s mission. On the other hand, some people, especially parents of young children, think that the violent content of films and games can have a detrimental impact on the kids’ mental health. To illustrate, children can’t sleep well and get nightmares after witnessing ghosts or scenes of blood in horror movies and games. Also, the public regards the actors and actresses as their role model and tend to imitate their actions. Thus, there is a valid concern that youngsters acquire harsh words and rude behaviour from watching violent movies. To conclude, in my opinion, while we can take films and computer games associated with violence as entertainment material for relaxation purposes, we should take caution that some harmful contents are not exposed to our kids for their own benefit.