Some people think advertisements may have positive economic effects whereas others think there are negative social effects because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some perspectives, commercial institutions could gain more attention and boost their revenue based on advertisements, while the opponents argue such means of promoting provoke a simple standard of beauty which lower people's self-esteem. To begin with, since celebrities with perfect physical figures and stunning faces could make one's product more valuable, and stimulate a trend of imitation among young individuals, a growing number of companies are willing to invest a tidy sum in advertisements. For example, as one of the most famous underwear brands, Victoria's Secret is known in favour of hiring skinny models, they even refuse to produce their products in large sizes, making young girls proud of being able to fit in their clothes. Fast expending of such brands indicates that they make a bank out of such methods. On the other hand, a growing number of young individuals rely on unhealthy ways to lose wights, including extremist diets or smoking. While those famous brands enjoy a great number of profits gained from advertisements as such, thousands and millions of young people struggling with eating disorders and mental illnesses. On top of that, those who are not able to reach that modern beauty standard see themselves as looser, not only will they lose confidence in public, but in some drastic situation, they might hurt themselves. Take those models on catwalks as an example, they are appreciated by many people, however, little do they know, to maintain what so-called perfect figure, those models are pickier with their outlook, which makes most of them dislike how they look. To conclude, it is inevitable that advertisements could benefit brands with their fame and income, however, the potential hazards it causes should not be overlooked, since they could endanger the younger generation, physically and mentally. Therefore, in my opinion, I believe there are more disadvantages than positive effects regarding commercial advertisements.