Some people think that companies and private individuals should pay to clean up the pollution that they produce, not the government (taxes/public funds).

Industrial pollution has lately been a focal point of modern-day discussions for their alarming nature and scale. In this respect, it has been proposed that one way to address this issue is to make companies and individuals pay for the environmental damage rather than use public funds. Though this suggestion may seem appeal Change the form of the verb appealing show examples to many, I take issue with this proposal. To start, there are some valid reasons why companies and individual citizens should be expected to cover expenses associated with the environment. Firstly, companies make large profits at the cost of the environment, so they can afford to pay to curb pollution levels. This, indeed, is a standard practice in some developed nations of the world where powerful companies fund non-profit cleaning organizations that are set up to maintain our natural surroundings. Such practice not only helps restore the environment, but also the government who often struggles to solve other major issues such as poverty and poor education. Finally, if private citizens pay for their pollution, they will become more mindful towards the environment and pollute less. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that the government should take full responsibility as far as the environmental issues go. The main reason has to do with the fact that most production companies worldwide pay their share of the pollution costs through taxes. Revenue generated from these taxes is often sufficient and should be seen as reparations paid by giant companies which cause pollution. Similarly, in most countries, citizens already pay taxes to make up for their carbon footprint. Therefore, the suggestion to make people and companies pay even more for pollution is likely to be met with general public disapproval. In conclusion, while there is some logic to charging companies and private individuals for pollution they cause, I am of the view/opinion that the government should foot the environmental bill for the reasons stated above.