The breakthroughs in medical science are by far the most significant advances in world society over the last two centuries

Over the last two hundred years, there have been changes to society in nearly all aspects of people's lives. Medical science has advanced beyond recognition and it can be argued that this has been the most crucial change. To begin with, the last two centuries have witnessed great advances of the industrial revolution. For example; automation, machinery and various technologies have revolutionised the way people live, work, play and travel. This can mean society has now many things that make people's lifestyle easier and more enjoyable, including cars, planes, computers and telephones to name only a few. It is quite clear that these advances are phenomenally significant in most people's lives today. Furthermore, medical science has also been revolutionised. This includes the three principal challenges facing surgery, which were pain, infection and bleeding, have all been overcome, allowing the lives of millions to be saved. Moreover, the discoveries of vaccines to deal with the great killer diseases of history alos took place over the last two centuries. For instance; in Germany, probably billions of people who would have died from diseases such as smallpox, tuberculosis, diphtheria and tetanus have all been saved. In addition to this, medicine now has such an advanced knowledge of human body systems that doctors can cure or heal a wide range of ailments that would in the past have been fatal or extremely debilitating. It is also likely that the next century will see similar significant advances. In conclusion, although there have been many different advances in society over the last two hundred years, the fact that so many people have had their lives preserved or improved by medical breakthroughs makes it seem incontrovertible that it is these medical advances that have been the most significant.