Many supermarkets are selling more and more imported foods instead of seling locally produced foods? What are the reasons for this? İs this positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, eating imported food or local food is one of the most controversial issues that people like debating about. Thanks to the globalisation in the food markets, now we have more chance to choose our food in our daily meals. At this point, supermarkets face some problems. They have to provide various food by offering imported food for customers and also assume local produces. I will explain why this event occur to supermarkets and discuss about negative and positive effect. There are some reasons why supermarkets want to display imported food. Firstly, imported food is far less expensive than local food. This is because local foods are organic, organic foods are always expensive. Secondly, by providing a variety of food to customers, supermarkets can earn a lot of money. If supermarket marchandises are limited, customers would not go to the market. At the same time, these reasons can be as a positive development, because through this, customers thesedays have a various chance to choose their food with reasonable price. On the other hand, a negative effect also exists. If a citys' main economic activitiy is selling local food, this local economy would effected by selling imported foods in local supermarkets. At a result, this process may follow local production down. So, at this point, local government should take a measure to balance between producing local foods and selling imported foods in their supermarkets. In conclusion, local government should play an important role in fields of selling foods in supermarkets to balance these good and harm effects.