Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Digital technologies (for example, computers and smartphones) have improved the quality of communication between people. Use reasons and examples to explain your answer.

In this fast-paced society, the development of technology and science in the field of communication has introduced a significant impact. With the introduction of digital gadgets, the lives of people have changed dramatically. Therefore it is very important to consider whether improvements in the mode of communication have impacted positively or negatively in society. Without a doubt, I disagree with the statement and believe that the medium of communication between individuals has deteriorated drastically currently. I strongly feel this way for two reasons, which I shall delve into in the following essay. To begin with, advancements in the field of cell phones and personal computers have made communication easier and accessible, but at the same time degraded the quality of interaction. It has become very difficult to demonstrate a person's emotion, body language, and gesticulation as they are completely masked through this mode of contact. For example, it is very important to figure out if a person is being serious or funny, as it's very difficult to understand such visual cues through these digital platforms. Although the introduction of video calls has reduced this issue, even now certain people find it difficult to visualize from those small screens. Therefore, this reason manifests the fact that technology has depressed the quality of communication. Moreover, with the advent of multiple texting platforms, people sent and receive messages instantaneously without any time constraints. However, the series of words and sentences sent out between people became short and concise with limited vocabulary. Thereby, people lost the ability to write a full sentence without any misspells, as they have been indulged in communicating through short forms, abbreviations and emojis. For example, a recent study among students from the University of Peshawar, demonstrated that students who texted with short words found it very difficult to write a formal sentence without any mistakes. Admittedly, some believe that the quality of interaction has improved drastically as they are able to contact people staying in different time zones of the world, with just a click of a button. But, on the other hand people are starting to lose their communication skills with the advent of technological improvements. To sum up, based on my expositions mentioned above, I hold the opinion that even though there are few advantages in the enhancement of communication, conversely, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. People should maximize the level of personal interaction as much as possible so that they do not lose the humanity within themselves.