People aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives. But few people achieve it. What are the causes of problems? How to overcome it?

The rapid speed of advancement in human lives has led us to the dilemma of maintaining the equilibrium between working and living. This essay would delve into the reason why many people encounter the failure of balancing those aforementioned aspects and propose certain solutions to deal with the problem. The unattainable goals of stabilizing work and life can be attributed to financial and social pressure as well as household responsibilities that one has to fulfil. Chief among these is that people are working in a goal-oriented way to make ends meet which imposes tremendous strain that they have to suffer. This can be explained by the fear of being heavily in debt or not having a decent life in the future once they stop working. Also, social recognition has created a burden that most individuals have to shoulder. Working arduously and continuously to climb to a higher position on the career ladder has been the ultimate goal of employees due to their obsession with acknowledgement from society. Concerning the second reason, a myriad of domestic duties such as taking care of children and parents has led to the insufficient amount of time allocated for individuals themselves. The shortage of time for relaxation and recharging energy has contributed to the impossibility of balancing work and life for most people. Fortunately, the efficient working approach and the sharing of household responsibilities can be applied to address those problems. With regard to the former, people should modify their working style, from laboriously to efficiently and productively by means of multitasking. For example, waiting time in commuting by public transport can be used to check emails, plan personal schedules or revise reports. Turning to the second idea, family members are encouraged to share household chores with each other to lighten the burden that one has to carry. In this way, everyone would have more time to cater to their favourite pastimes such as watching a movie or journaling after working hours. In conclusion, people cannot achieve the goal of balancing working and living due to the pressure of maintaining a stable financial state as well as projecting a positive image to meet the requirements of society. However, the modification in working styles and the division of household work could be plausible to solve the problem.