Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects are not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree

One of the pillars of education systems is an examination of students' progress. Many argue that conventional formal examinations are the only effective assessment tool, and continual assessments are not reliable enough. This statement has been disagreed with as not only do formal examinations have several drawbacks, but also continual assessments have the potential to accurately examine various competencies over time. Firstly, formal examinations are not without imperfections. Primarily these examinations are usually conducted in stressful conditions, meaning that the results are distorted due to the student’s ability to cope with the stress, instead of solely assessing their knowledge about the topic. Accordingly, these results are not reliable. Therefore many times, formal examinations lead us to inaccurate results. Secondly, continual examinations assess the student’s abilities in several steps. This continuum not only releases the tension during examinations but also gives us a more precise result due to the fact that many retests validate the final outcome. In summary, routine examinations are incapable of thoroughly assessing the understanding of test takers, while continual assessment pros outweigh its minor cons. Therefore, the argument that continual assessment results are not valid as that of formal examinations is not supported. With the improvements in continual testing, the unnecessary destroying stress of exam days will be diminished.