It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in under developed countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

It is not unusual that many students these days decide to work as volunteers in developing countries before their university life. I would argue that there are plenty of benefits while shortcomings should also be taken into consideration. One benefit of doing volunteer work is that students could develop a set of skills of great value for their future careers. Working in different countries outside the academic institutions gives youngsters opportunities to tackle some problems which are hard to access in a school environment. For instance, students who work in a refugee camp need to interact with all walks of people with various cultural backgrounds. This means that their capability of communication could be enhanced and this ability could be quite crucial in many job positions. Working as a volunteer also plays a vital role in fostering a sense of responsibility in the younger generation. When doing charitable work, students could realize that they need to shoulder the burden of taking care of others as there are people who are relying on them. For instance, when they work as assistants in a youth hostel, they are aware that they need to address lots of customers' needs in a timely manner to make it a better place to live in. This means they begin to know how to be responsible for others and contribute to society. On the other hand, their experiences as volunteers could also hamper the development of their academic skills. Participating in a volunteer program means that hours which are previously prepared for study need to make way for their work during this gap year. As a consequence, they may forget the knowledge they gained during their high school years while their peers are using them to achieve academic success in their universities. Meanwhile, It requires them quite a long time to review this knowledge before starting their university life. To summarise, working as a volunteer has its own pros and cons and students should take it into careful consideration before arriving at a final decision.