Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In this contemporary era, people are exploring places which have extreme weather conditions such as the Sahara Desert, the Antarctic etc. This essay will elucidate the advantages and disadvantages in detail with relevant examples in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin, the advantages for tourists are that they get to explore and learn about how other people live in harsh conditions. In other words, they get a break from their monotonous routines and boost their knowledge about the lifestyle, animals, and vegetation of these specific locations. Moreover, they learn how to survive in these places which improves their confidence and creativity levels as they can put their abilities to test. To exemplify, a place with no network, and electricity would provide an individual with a number of challenges in how they can manage themselves. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the advantages of this development. On the contrary, individuals might have to face the drawbacks of living in this kind of atmosphere such as people might lose their life and developing life-threatening diseases. Furthermore, these locations are not meant for family vacations as younger and older age group members of the family would face a lot of issues in adapting to the environment. For example, medical facilities would not be guaranteed if any accident or injury happens to anybody. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the demerits of tourists who explore these places. To sum up, the merits are individuals learn about various things related to that place and get out of their hectic routine to discover their strengths and weaknesses too. However, there are disadvantages that people encounter like they may not be able to survive in these harsh environments and also these places are not meant for family holidays which would cause problems for kids and elderly members.