Some people go shopping as a form of recreation. It has replaced the other activities that people used to do as hobbies. Is this a positive or negative development? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people go shopping not only when they need to buy specific items, but they now consider shopping as a form of recreation. Some even prefer it over other hobbies and recreational activities. In this essay, I will explore the reasons for this negative development and I will provide examples to support my argument. Shopping as a form of recreation has many downsides. The development of malls made the shopping experience more enjoyable. Shops that sell clothes and accessories are located next to restaurants and children's play areas. On one hand, this made the shopping experience more comfortable. But on the other hand, it caused people to go shopping even if they do not need to buy anything. Some go shopping if they are bored, sad or depressed. Others go shopping as a form of celebration. This led to the waste of money that could have been spent on other more important things. In addition, shopping replaced other useful hobbies that can help people to develop in a good way. There are many examples of this bad development. In a recent report, 10% of factories in the state of Kuwait were shut down between 2010 and 2020 due to the fact that they were replaced by malls and shopping areas. It is more profitable to build malls than to invest in other sectors that could better support and develop the nation in the long term. Another study showed that the current Saudi citizen spends 43% on average of his monthly income on shopping. In conclusion, shopping as a hoppy has many downsides. this idea is further supported by multiple examples.