TD's Task 2: Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages?

Entrepreneurship is one of the typical features of today's market-oriented economy worldwide. Instead of applying for a job some have decided to open their own company to pursue their dream of developing their career. Despite certain benefits, I firmly believe that the risks they have to face are significantly greater than they have ever expected. On the one hand, two main advantages are usually attributed to starting a business of their own. It seems that time flexibility is one of the motivations behind their decisions to become self-employed. As a boss, they can start work whenever they want and finish when it is the most suitable, which means they would have more time to pursue their interest and spend with their family. More importantly, most of them are enticed by the idea of making more financial gains. Instead of receiving a poor monthly salary, they are likely to earn a large sum of money if successful; their inspiration comes from self-made billionaires, such as Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, or Mark Zuckerberg. On the other hand, people with entrepreneurship but lack experience have to face many unexpected situations which they can not handle in effective ways. With initial great motivation and confidence, the importance of experience in the business world is mostly ignored. As a matter of fact, their personal knowledge and skills are not sufficient to cope with complicated and risky issues, for,example partnership, market share or technology transfer. Finance is always the most serious concern among entrepreneurs as they have to bear a large initial capital and costly technology investment. However, it is hard for them to make enough profit,especially in the first few years in today's competitive market, leading to bad debts beyond their capability and ending up going bankrupt. In conclusion, although starting a business sounds attractive to many, I would argue that its advantages are overshadowed by numerous disadvantages and dangers. However, the precautionary principle is sometimes the obstacle to development, as no risk means no gain, and success always originates from a precise decision.