Some people say that increasing business and cultural contacts between countries is a positive development, while others think that many countries will lose their national identities as a result. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that these days countries are increasing their trade and cultural connections. Some believe that it is a positive thing while others disagree with this idea. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and I will share my personal opinion. In terms of advantages, countries opening up to each other has many benefits. First, it made people understand and care for each other more. To illustrate, many recent reports showed an increase in tolerance among people in open societies. Secondly, multiple goods are now freely traded between the east and the west. This made those goods cheaper in price and more affordable. Gadgets and technology innovations spread immediately to be used all over the world. On the other hand, while increasing connections between counties have its benefits, it also carries its own downsides. It turned the world into a global village. people can hardly differentiate between cities since most of them almost look and feel the same. In other words, travelling has lost most of its appeal. On top of that, small local businesses could not compete with large factories that are producing in China. Many of them could not maintain their businesses and had to close. In the long term, this is damaging to local economies. In conclusion, although increasing cultural contact and opening up trade between countries is beneficial, it has its side effects. I believe that it is useful to increase business contact with some limits. I also believe that culture should be unique to each country and should be protected.