Many people choose to have a holiday in their own country rather than going overseas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of holidaying in your own country?

It is not surprising that many people prefer to have a vacation in their own country rather than go abroad as they both have their own pros and cons. One benefit of having a trip to travellers' own country is that they are capable of visiting more places as the expenditure could be much cheaper. A domestic journey means that tourists do not need to pay for a spate of extra expenses which could only exist for international passengers like tickets for expensive outbound flights and fees for the visa service. This means that they could save a lot of money to cover their cost in more destinations. For instance, the cost of a seven days trip to Paris may be enough for a Chinese citizen to visit multiple cities in the Chinese Mainland. Another benefit of travelling in people's own country is that it can provide a spate of new job vacancies for unemployed citizens. As the local tourism industry booms, companies involved in this area like travel agencies, hotels and restaurants in tourist attractions need to hire more people to keep operations going, addressing the robust demand for their products and services. This means unemployed people are more likely to find jobs with a decent source of income. On the other hand, it could be a bit more monotonous for tourists to travel inside their own country compared with some foreign destinations. Different places in the same country are quite alike and enjoy so many similarities including the language, foods and style of architecture. In such cases, people are less likely to get a sense of pleasure or enjoyment as they have already seen these scenes in their own hometown. Especially for small countries like the Netherlands and South Korea, it could be hard for people to distinguish differences between different places in these countries. To summarise, both enjoying holidays in an exotic foreign country and in people's own country have their advantages and limits. Careful consideration is needed before arriving at a final decision.