Some local languages are becoming extinct. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The process of globalization is gradually changing our traditions. Besides costumes, local languages are moving towards extinction. This can be caused by many factors. In this essay, I would explore some of the motivations for this trend and share my opinion about the topic. As I wrote in the introduction, one of the reasons why this is happening is globalization. In the modern world, we are required to change our way to talk and write in order to communicate with a wider number of people from anywhere around the globe. In fact, English is becoming as important as the national idiom. However, this phenomenon is not something new. Even in the past, foreign trade influenced idioms. For example, some people argue that the British accent is a consequence of the contact with the French. Are all the languages at the same level of risk? In my opinion, some of them are too relevant in terms of culture to be lost. Therefore, the idioms that are exposed at a high level of risk are those that are talked about among small minorities. Regional dialects, for instance, could gradually get extinct. In other terms, the more people speak it the less likely is to extinction. Moreover, a vast literature is a deterrent to the phenomenon. In conclusion, communication is becoming easier but, at the same time, we could lose our cultural identity. Despite this may sound dramatic, I think it is a normal process of evolution. Thus, I would say, it is a positive development.