Today a lot of different cultures and ethics groups live together in one country. Why is this so and do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Our cities are characterized by the presence of very different ethnic groups close to each other. What are the reasons why this has happened? One of the main reasons is Colonialism. During those decades, European powers moved towards far lands to settle new towns and to expand their dominions. As a consequence, natives and colonials started living together. Linked to this phenomenon there is the trade of slaves. However, segregation reduced the cultural mix. Therefore, despite living in the same area, each of these has developed its own culture and habits. An example could be France. In the country, there is a high concentration of Arabic groups as a consequence of France's campaign in the north of Africa. Additionally, we could appoint economic development as another cause. In recent years, we have experienced the phenomenon of mass migration. Large ethnic groups moved from poor zones of the world to wealthier cities. This is the case of the high percentage of the Slavic population in some Italian metropolis, that moved away from their birthplaces due to the floundering economy after the fall of the USSR and Yugoslavia. In my opinion, this phenomenon presents some positive aspects and some negative ones. Firstly, the fact that a group is keep its own culture despite living in a foreign land is positive. It is nice that people can maintain their identities. Yet, some people see this trend as a negative thing. Thus, it alimented some racist stereotypes. In conclusion, the multiethnic society is a consequence of history and economics. We should be proud of being citizens of Countries that present favourable conditions for human life and, at the same time, we should admire the culture of those people.