Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Excessive sugar -based product consumption is considered the key to several health-related issues. While a school of thought holds that raising the cost of processed goods laden with sugar would tackle the alarming problems, I wholeheartedly disagree with it. From my perspective, I believe that people can implement other viable solutions to deal with the overconsumption of sugary products. There are many compelling reasons why people should not make the price of sweet foods and beverages exorbitant. First of all, studies have proved that people who are considered sugar addictive would go to great lengths to purchase these products, irrespective of their unreasonable price. When a person craves high levels of carbohydrate, a bar of candy or a can of coke is their life savior. Since these manufactured products release the dopamine that creates a short-term high within the body, it is no longer feasible for the person to resist the temptation of high- sugar foods and drinks. Secondly, charging more for sugary products may result in a decline in the sales of sweet food and drinks, which consequently takes a toll on the sugar -sweetened food and beverage industry, especially small businesses. In the long term, this will damage the economy and then cause the unemployment rate to surge. In order to deter people from excessively consuming sugar, the government should administer the following measures. Firstly, it is crucial that the detrimental drawbacks of sugar overconsumption receive more media coverage. For example, should news and research about diseases caused by eating sugar be frequently broadcast on TV or social media, they would raise residents’ awareness and empower them to resist the temptation and apply sugar -detox diets. Another feasible solution is that the authority should divert more funding to encourage people to adopt healthy lifestyles, especially targeting young people. This financial support could be used to launch free sports events or construct outdoor fitness parks, which can dramatically boost the appeal of working out.