‘Some people believe that hosting International sports events is highly beneficial, whereas others think it is create problems to the host country’ Discuss both the views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Hosting an International Sports Event could bring a number of benefits to one country, while different views on the matter defend that the drawbacks are higher. In this essay, I will discuss both parts. To be the host of an event of such characteristics is usually seen as a big opportunity for the nation. Undoubtedly there is a raise in the economy that comes by the hand of the hundred of thousands of visitants that will be displaced to the place. Furthermore, the necessity of new facilities will create new jobs for a big number of citizens. Besides all of this, the country will be put on the map and this could attract more tourism in the close future. Nevertheless, the big economic investment the host has to perform could be seen by some of the population as a waste of resources that could be used for better intentions, like welfare policies and public services improvement. In the majority of cases, the new very modern and expensive facilities will be abandoned, being a real economic waste. In the city of Barcelona, host of the 1992 Olympics, the Olympic City looks in recent times like a ghost town where the echo of the wasted millions still resounds. To sum up, though a big event like the World Cup or the Olympics could be an opportunity for creating some movement in the economy and give a better name to the nation, the number of necessary resources and waste of them could be seen by the population as an irresponsible movement from part of the Government.