Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A debate over whether or not some electric devices like mobile phones and computers are harmful to the young generation, especially in the aspect of reading and writing skills has gained attention. While some argue that it brings a terrible impact. I disagree with the statement above. I personally agree that it makes a positive effect on improving the reading and writing skills of the group at young ages. On the one hand, such kinds of electric equipment, smartphones and computers are easy and portable to use. It provides a wealth of information and resources for reading for young students to access. For instance, hundreds of reading data posted online, like articles, blogs, and e-books allow the youth to read online without any fees. Compared to the past, people needed to buy the paper version of reading, even sometimes were not able to get the right reading books that they wanted to buy. Moreover, there are some educational software and applications for utilizing, which helps the reading skill of young individuals. Therefore, they can read these things at any time and anywhere, practising their reading skill. For another, writing skills also can be improved when using cell phones or computers. To begin with, typing words on phones or computers is highly efficient and time-saving which inspires students to write more frequently. The more they write, the more they will be professional. For example, online discussion enables the youth to share their writings online, which is open to everyone. Then, they find it available to receive feedback and encouragement from other users in a short time. This process contributes to developing their writing ability as well as inspiring their interest in writing. In conclusion, the young generation should be encouraged to use electric devices, it not only can increase their reading skill but also can enhance their writing ability.