Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that having hard penalties for driving mistakes is the way to avoid incidents on the road. Others say there are other methods that would be better to augment roadway security. While the quiet version is more pacifist, I believe that the hard version is more effective in reducing car accidents. On the one hand, some react really badly to the pressure. They can be stressed on the road because they are afraid of the police or the repercussions that they could have. Moreover, with that pressure, they can easily make accidents because they are not fixed enough on the road and they can lose control of the car because of a loss of concentration. For example, in Sweden during the year 2023, the authorities made an experiment on drivers. If they did not make any infraction during the whole year their taxes would drop by fifty percent during six months. Thus, the survey shows that the number of incidents dropped but just a few. On the other hand, some people think that the more restrictions there are, the fewer incidents will happen. It’s like a way to control the bad drivers from the good ones. If there are fewer people that drive badly it would be a way to increase the security on the roads and to protect humans from danger. A good example of this is a new law made by Toronto’s authorities in 2022. They put cameras in the whole city to control every citizen in their car. If they commit one driving mistake they can’t drive for one month and have to pay a fine. This law worked very well, the accidents decreased by seventy per cent. To conclude, having other methods to augment roadway security can be efficient, in just a few cases. However, I think that hard penalties are much more efficient and strict restrictions should be put in every country to protect all human life in cars.