New technologies have brought many changes to children's leisure activities. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages or are there other things?

Nowadays we are living in the computer age and we cannot ignore technology. Due to technological advancements, children's spare activities have changed and improved. I believe that the pros of modern technology overweigh the cons and this essay will discuss some of them. These days young generation devotes most of their spare time to playing online games and interacting with other people who are from other countries, which can lead to enhancing their communication skills and interaction skills. In addition to that, cutting-edge technology such as smartphones allows youngsters to connect with the world. Therefore, they can see others’ views and plans that can apply them to their future. For example, in Jordan the majority of the young generation relies on others’ achievements which they can observe by using social media platforms. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks that come from using technology. children who are using electronic devices in their spare time for a long periods can lead to obesity and poor eyesight. The majority of electronic devices do not have a protective screens which can cause eye problems. Furthermore, children spend most of their leisure time on modern technology and they spend less time with their parents. As a result, family bonds will be broken and this can impact negatively their lives. In conclusion, state-of-the-art technology has altered the way that children spend their spare time and they have benefits and drawbacks. But the advantages overweigh the disadvantages.