Some people think that music lessons aren’t important and that children should pay more attention to science. Do you agree or disagree?

Is music really important? Surely, it is but many people would argue that children should focus on science and so the time spent on music lessons is wasted. In this essay, I am going to analyse the topic and share my opinion about it. Schools all around the world dedicate some time to music. It is likely to find this subject in educational programs, especially for children. As a consequence, some of the hours that could be spent studying maths and other scientific subjects are dedicated to this art. Therefore, they are often complaining about the inclusion of music in the weekly schedule of their kids' school. From their point of view, instrument lessons should be a hobby to fill their free time. What are the advantages of including music lessons in school? The first thing we may consider is that not all students have an attitude towards science. Thus, creative subjects can be helpful to them. In other terms, not everyone will become a doctor or a nurse and so it is good to leave them some time to develop other types of skills. Moreover, it could be important to study music in order to have a better understanding of the culture of our nation and other ones. The reason for this is the importance of musical works throughout history. Additionally, students might need some time to make up their minds after tiring courses to improve their productivity. In conclusion, I disagree with those who state that it is a waste of time. Although not as important as other studies, music lessons can be I way to relax and to prove creativity.