Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Consuming too many carbohydrates is very harmful to our health. In the past few decades, the percentage of obese people rise dramatically. For this reason, many people are asking an intervention by the government asking to limit the amount of sugar in our diets. In my essay, I'm going to explain whether the government should intervene or not and what could they do to stop the problem. High consumption of carbohydrates can be the cause of an unhealthy lifestyle. Moreover, many of the products that contain a concerning percentage of carbs are those that are very likely to generate some kind of addiction. For example, sodas, such as Coca-Cola, are among the worst products in terms of sugar ratio. Yet, people are still drinking a lot of these beverages. Despite the low-carb proposals, the issue is continuing to grow. Therefore, it is necessary to do something to overcome this situation. According to some citizens, politicians have to make an effort to limit the eating of this damaging nutrient. How can they achieve this objective? A policy that could be helpful is requiring companies to attach a nutritional score for food and drinks before disposing of them on sale. In other terms, it should be mandatory to add a label with a marking scale that suggests the impact, either positive or negative, of the consumption of stuff that are on the shelves. Thus, we can easily evaluate what is good for us. However, in some countries, this idea has been widely criticized. For example, in Italy, when a similar proposal was discussed, it found strong opposition. Additionally, a part of the population states that we should be free to eat whatever we want. So, if someone is eating harmful food, it is their own problem and none should judge their choice. In conclusion, an intervention may be necessary but nothing can really change if we are not ready to change our habits.