Nowadays, more and more younger people need to compete with older people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What would you suggest as a solution?

As the aging of society has rapidly processed, many people try to postpone their post-retirement life. This phenomenon has led to competitive job hunting between youths and seniors. There are some negative impacts on society such as unemployment rate and dependence of children on parents. I will cover some solutions in this essay as well. In terms of problems, seniors usually have more knowledge and experiences which are often used as their advantages and youths might have difficulty finding a job, which leads to an increase in unemployment rate in society. For example, civil servants are considered as one of the most stable jobs in Japan and older generations have a tendency to extend their retirement age. Therefore, educated youngsters, who have potential to have successful careers if they are hired, need to give up their first choice and find compromise. Moreover, if graduates can not seize a job opportunity, they feel depressed and lose their confidence. They might end up having no choice but relying on financial support from their parents. To solve these issues, one effective solution will be to offer sufficient social benefits to seniors which promotes early retirements. One alternative solution may be to hire new young people constantly and put seniors into tutor positions. While older people keep their standard of living, youngsters can learn knowledge and experience from superiors. However, this costs more money and this strategy depends on companies’ budgets. To conclude, job competitions between younger generation and older generation have been more and more severe due to the changed retirement age and this circumstance has brought social issues and early retirement system should be enforced in many companies.