Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art classes are usually included in high school curriculums in many countries. While some claim that painting and drawing should not be mandatory for students, others believe that art subjects are meaningful and beneficial. Although Art brings some benefits such as learning about culture and history, in my opinion, students should have a right to choose what they want to learn in high school. On the one hand, art has been utilized as an effective tool to learn our olden cultures and histories for a long time. Therefore, many countries have introduced art as a compulsory subject in high school. Consequently, children get opportunities not only to have a deep insight into cultures but also to express their emotions through their tasks. Creative activities at an early age can expand their personalities and imaginations, which other subjects can not provide. On the other hand, as technology and medical science have significantly developed over the past few decades, many parents have a hope for their children to gain successful careers, such as becoming doctors and engineers. Therefore, other subjects such as math and science are preferable to art. Some people may consider Art to be useless and a waste of time. Therefore, the elective system should be enforced to allow students to choose where they want to be. For example, in some Japanese private high schools, art and music are selective and home economics classes became mandatory to prohibit sexual discrimination. To conclude, although art is an essential tool to pass culture and history on to another generation, creative classes should be elective in high schools to adapt to individual desires and current situations.