Employers somtimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information. Such as their habbies and interests, and whether thay are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Companies sometimes ask people for personal information like hobbies, marital status, etc before joining. Many individuals think this information is relevant, while others do not agree. I agree with the latter because this data doesn't affect the job. This essay shall discuss the details of my stance with examples in subsequent paragraphs. First of all, the main advantage of sharing this information is that employers organize co-curricular activities when people with certain interests can participate. Moreover, these activities improve team bonding and give a refresh to both body and mind. For instance, many big associations like Google, Microsoft, etc. held special events where employees are allowed to showcase their talent and hobbies, which makes the public feel good about their employers. Thus, these data are essential for companies. Furthermore, there are many who think these data are unnecessary. Firstly, personal info is of no use as it does not affect the job profile. Secondly, it is believed that these pieces of info are shared with other financial companies for loans and credit cards. Additionally, the job we do or get should not be based on gender or marital status. To cite an example, many small associations in Japan have started hiring the public only based on their qualifications, which should be the only criteria. In conclusion, although there are merits of sharing personal info with organizations, the irrelevance cannot be ignored. Hence, as per the above discussion, it is clear that this info is unnecessary for employers.