In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that companies in today’s society somehow stress the newness of their products in their adverts. There are some factors which help to account for this trend. Moreover, this trend has forced businesses to become more prototypical when creating the latest goods that customers will be inspired to purchase. In their advertisements, each enterprise draws customers’ attention to how innovative their new products are. The reason for this is that those who work in the commercial sector have already realised that consumers have a genuine desire to obtain a new experience by taking advantage of the latest commodities. Therefore, they focus on what kind of technology the newer merchandise has as compared to the older models when they introduce the goods. In fact, I found out recently that we each see more than 10 advertisements for smartphones a day which highlights the high quality of their cameras such as the focus speed and the vividness of the photo they can take. Consequently, we are obliged, albeit subconsciously, to choose to buy one of these phones comparing only those features; which is exactly as the staff intended. In my personal view, however, this advertising war may lead every business in each sector to be more competitive which would enable our lives to be more convenient and innovative than ever before. In reality, to survive in this fiercely competitive market, whenever its rival company launches the latest merchandise to the public every firm is forced to develop better wares than it has sold previously. For instance, in the automobile market, an enormous number of companies such as Tesla, Toyota, and BMW are making huge efforts to develop electric vehicles with driverless functions in order to become a leader in the sector. Thanks to this competition, we can enjoy an attractive experience in amazing vehicles because these revolutionary functions enable us to do something that we couldn’t do before. In conclusion, while some argue that enterprises today exaggerate advertising by focusing on the novelty of their products, I strongly believe this trend has certainly brought acceptable competition among them and, furthermore, revolutionised the way we live our lives.