Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is the most common language across the globe. Nowadays, it is taking precedence over local languages,especially in schools and workplaces. If this situation doesn't stop, then local languages are most likely to die out. In this essay, I described why I believe English is important for everyone, and explained why and how we should ensure the survival of local languages. It’s important for everyone to learn English as it makes communication very easy. English is an international language not only for trading but also for academics. In terms of research, most of the published research materials such as books are available in English, and it would imply spending extra shillings for translation of the material for non- English speakers. In addition, not necessarily contradiction, it's also important to learn local languages. This is because it enables us to keep uprooted in our cultures and traditions. Oftentimes, we are defined by the local language we speak thus it enables us to preserve our identity, which the English vocabulary is not likely to do. Moreover, most of the literature on norms and traditions was written in local languages. We should ensure that local languages don’t die out by restructuring the school curriculum to include some of the local languages and ensuring that it is compulsory at the primary level. We should also promote co-curricular activities in schools for example music, dance and drama where students exhibit their talents in their local languages. In conclusion, learning English is critical for anyone who wants to pursue a career or trade across national borders. In addition, local languages are equally essential to preserve our culture and traditions. In my own opinion, special efforts should be made by the nation’s Governments to ensure that local languages don't die out.