In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in some part of our world, people are pursuing to buy their own home rather than rent one. There are various reasons that can explain why this is the case. In my opinion, this trend could lead to more demerits than positive ones. The trend of buying instead of renting can be traced back to three main reasons. First of all, in many countries, it is widely acknowledged that buying own home is an indicator of financial power, which can also be understood as a symbol of social status. For example, people barely hear that an entrepreneur pays rent every month for his apartment. Secondly, owning a home means this house belongs with you entirely, which build up a sense of security, as people don't need to worry about whether the landlady would decide to cancel the contract next day. Furthermore, nowadays people are keen on house investment as well, therefore owning a home could also be consider a result of economic factor. I would argue that this buying rather renting could bring more disadvantages in predictable future. It cannot be denied that this can lead to a boost of economy, as there are more currency in our market. However, this can bring extra burdens and unessential stress to people living in those countries. In some cultures, one of the prerequisites of marriage is buying a new home for the couple on their own. This request and a series of ensuing disputes could even ruin the relationship. Besides, when people own their home in a certain place, they are more likely to be fixed there and thereby lose more possibilities, which I think is actually a pity. In conclusion, plenty of factors results the current prevalence of buying houses. Personally I regarded it as a more negative phenomenen phenomena due to the problems it may cause.