money offered for postgraduate research is limited; as a consequence, some people argue that financial support from the government should only be provided for scientific research rather than research for less useful subjects. do you agree or disagree?

The progresses of postgraduate research are highly dependent on financial support from governments. I agree that instead of investing in research that barely contributes to the world in a good way, money should go to subjects that could provide solutions for difficulties nowadays. To begin with, one of the cogent reasons why governments should put the majority of money into certain postgraduate research, including science and medicine, is due to professional areas as such playing essential roles to tackle various issues which need to be fixed urgently. For example, researchers in science are keen to use clear energies, including solar power, or hydroelectricity, to replace traditional power supplies, such as thermal power. That is why compared to literature and history, science research provides more practical usage. Secondly, it could cost a tidy sum to support the process of research, be it upgrading equipment for experiments, or maintenance fee. Furthermore, some subjects need participants to be involved for a long term, which will provoke a great among of spending. With limited budgets, correlative departments should make good use of it by carefully evaluating research for their potential and practical usage in the world. For example, medical research could provide solutions for rare diseases, which could enhance the life span of human beings. Without financial support from governments such progress would be hard to achieve. To conclude, I believe it is necessary for governments to support postgraduate research that could contribute to the world the most, despite that they might need to trade in the opportunities for other professional filed. I agree that governments should provide more financial subsidies to encourage certain postgraduate research to provide useful solutions.