Many people today find that the cost of attaining a University-level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation? and how can governments, Universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

While a growing number of young yearn to attend university, the costs incurred can prove prohibitive in some cases. The origins of this situation seem to be due to three factors, whereas many resources, three of which are explained below, seem open to us. I think the ever-soaring daily costs as well as university efforts to progress at the same rate as the Technological boom can be quoted as the main reasons why many find university fees exorbitant. However, many resources, notably, the reintroduction of state funding, delivery of professionally paid university courses, as well as change in students’ mindset regarding the time to apply for a university place, seem open to us. I think two reasons may well explain why many think university tuition fees are intolerably high. One major cause underlying the high costs of university tuition fees is the cost of living. Daily costs are on the rise, and, regrettably, this appears to be a global trend. One provision of the essentials appears overwhelming, predictably, many, especially people with limited financial resources, may no longer be able to meet their daily costs in addition to their already intolerably high costs. An additional well-known reason could be the rapid evolution of today’s technology. Universities often find themselves in a competitive situation where they have to keep pace with the latest cutting-edge technological developments. As such, the greater and more accessible the technological devices at educational bodies, the greater the expenses for students to sign up for university courses. Such astronomical costs are often evidenced in industrialized nations such as the USA where the fees are exorbitantly high to the extent that many are deprived of education in the first place. Despite the apparent financial obstacles, a coordinated response by the state, the institutions, and the individuals may well lessen the severity of the situation. One possible approach is to reinstate some element of state funding. Even though public budgets are under pressure these days, if we took that step, access to courses would be greatly enhanced for low-income people. A second step might be that universities offer shorter programs or more courses with an embedded element of professionally remunerated work experience. If these courses were more accessible, the question of living costs would be reduced to some extent. Finally, students themselves may need to adopt a more flexible approach to education. and contemplate applying for a place at university at a later stage, or possibly only when they have accumulated sufficient funds to support themselves. In summary, the factors of funding and cost of living appear to be the main causes while the mentioned solutions, I think, may well help to make the cost of university financially more accessible to students.