In the future all cars,buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, there will no longer be buses and trucks driven by people, and there will only be passengers in these vehicles. In my opinion, this phenomenon will have more disadvantages than advantages. First, there is yet no guarantee that driverless cars will be accident-proof, so when accidents happen, the party to which responsibility should be placed is disputable. There might be a tendency to place the blame on the car company where the cars are designed and produced, but the malfunction of automatic vehicles that run on complicated technology and highly intelligent algorithm may not be entirely the fault of the engineers who designed them. Since these cars are predicted to make human drivers completely obsolete, they must be based on a highly sophisticated artificial intelligence that, if not surpass, is almost equivalent to a human brain. At this point, it is difficult to decide who shall be responsible for the accident that occurs. Second, the phenomenon implies that there will no longer be a need for a human to learn how to drive a car, which leaves human passengers vulnerable to an automatic machine that does not speak the language humans do. This means that the only humans who are capable of controlling the buses and trucks on the road are the engineers who designed them. When the only people riding these vehicles are passengers, these people are at the mercy of an artificially intelligent machine that could make life-threatening decisions or mistakes. If, for example, the car needs to be stopped or made a turn and the technology is not quick enough or does not understand the situation like a human does, there will be no one in the car that can take charge of the situation and turn things around. As none of them can drive, all of their lives are thus dependent on the vehicles they ride. This future would only leave humans vulnerable to something their counterparts created. In conclusion, a future where vehicles will be entirely driverless is a dangerous one. It not only makes it difficult to account for responsibility when accidents occur but also leaves human passengers ever more vulnerable as they no longer need to learn to drive. The possibility of a phenomenon coming into existence is very probable, and these are the things visionaries should take into account before they endeavour in building technology that humans can’t control.