Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviours. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, the travel and tourism industry is booming exponentially. People often travel cross-borders in order to explore new places, enjoy local cuisine and learn about different cultures and traditions practised in various countries. Some individuals opine that visitors must practice local customs and behaviours which are being followed there, whereas others believe that the host location should be open to cultural differences. In my view, I think that tourists, as well as localities, must respect each other’s religious beliefs and traditions. This essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Generally, citizens follow customs and traditions so that their cultures remain alive. It is crucial to respect such beliefs when travelling. This is necessary in order to have a pleasant experience and go back home with good memories. For instance, in case tourists disrespect local behaviours, they might fall into trouble as this might lead to a fight. As a result, the purpose of travel will not be served and visitors might run into serious problems. Additionally, it is imperative for the residents of the area to be accepting of the traditional patterns followed by the visitors. This is substantial for attracting more tourists and promoting the home country. For example, if one hurts a visitor’s religious sentiments then they will never visit the location ever again. Moreover, as they would even share their experiences with fellow mates, friends and relatives, they too would not be keen on exploring the area. Thus impacting the tourism of the country and the economy on the whole. Hence, it is favourable for both parties to understand and be accepting of each other’s cultural differences. This will ensure peace and harmony in society and benefit the world at large.