QUESTIONS: WITH A FAST PACE OF MODERN LIFE MORE AND MORE PEOPLE ARE TURNING TOWARDS FASTFOOD FOR THEIR MAIN MEALS. DO YOU THINK ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH THE ADVANTAGES?

Recently, a greater percentage of the world's population prefers to eat fast foods as their major meal more than regular home-made recipes and a lot of people have in many instances, considered the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. In my opinion, the demerits of this development outweigh the merits and I will explain why with the following points. Firstly, it is worth noting that eating processed foods saves a lot of time for families, especially in situations where both the husband and the wife work long hours a day. However, one should always remember that commercial meal recipes are not designed with any individual in mind and one may feed on substances which are detrimental to one's health without being able to figure it all out when his or her health begins to fail. An example is when a soy-intolerant body system is constantly fed foods prepared from soy-related recipes like oils, flour and others. Secondly, restaurants offer a wide range of exciting recipes in contrast to the possible stereotypical meal plans available in regular homes; this spices up meal-time experiences pleasantly but takes a toll on one's finances as such are very expensive when compared to the cost of homemade delicacies. An example is the cost of a plate of fried rice and a piece of chicken which is sold for two thousand, five hundred nairas: this amount will be sufficient to buy a kilogram of beef with the other ingredients required to prepare rice and stew for a family of four. Eating from commercial eateries frequently is not an ideal practice for one who is not rich to avoid bankruptcy. Thirdly, while convince meals appear very inviting when served, the sanitary condition of the kitchen where they are prepared is not guaranteed to be optimal; this will pose a risk factor in the consumers' health and should be discouraged because it is believed that good health is proportional to wealth. In conclusion, I strongly think that the disadvantages of relying on fast food as a person's main meal outweigh the advantages because financial bankruptcy and health failures are worse scenarios to handle when compared to whatever ease or pleasure fast meals offer.