It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often said that people benefit from taking risks in their personal as well as their professional lives. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and argument also can be made against the idea. We will discuss both sides of the argument and give a concluding view on why taking risk could be good for most people. On the one hand, those who support the idea of being open to risks, cite the various benefits risks can be accompanied with. Firstly, it could push people to improve themselves by learning new skills. For example, taking a new responsibility in your job or moving to another country will require learning new techniques to be learned. Another advantage is the new opportunities that could come along with taking risks. Imagine all the new people a person might meet because of the new job they have accepted, this could potentially lead to making new friends and connections which could result in promotions. By contrast, opponent of this view point out that not all people are living in a situation where taking risks is advisable or even possible. Examples could be seen in families which are expecting a baby. For these families, accepting a risk could lead to an unstable environment for all members thus would be better to be avoided. In addition, risks could also lead to failure. Meaning that, not all risks are beneficial therefore could worsen a person’s financial situation or possible even result in mental issues such as anxiety and depression. Overall, it seems advisable the decision to take a risk should be based on a person’s family circumstances and throughout evaluation of the risk itself, rather than on a general view that all people should take risks. This would appear to protect family environment and the individuals themselves.