Public health is becoming an urgent issue nowadays. Some argue that governments should create nutrition and food choice laws to improve public health, while others believe that it is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, general well-being has become a public concern. It is believed by many that authorities are entitled to issue food -regulating rules in order to ameliorate public health. However, others discern that individuals are responsible for their choices, and they do not have to be obliged to consume certain types of diet. Whilst I firmly believe that governments ought to intervene to a certain extent, I also believe that citizens have to be at liberty to choose from different options according to their health conditions and appearance preferences. On the one hand, one reason why states should intervene in civilians' food choices relates to their power of supervision over various health -influencing sectors. In other words, some food corporations tend to mislead consumers by providing them with illusive images regarding their products as being healthy while they are loaded with palm oils and refined sugars. Since states are able to censor such erroneous data, they would be adjusting citizens' options by discarding such produce. One further reason why governments ought to participate in the selection process is that they are armed with nutrition experts and researchers who are able to provide citizens with the proper and up-to-date options according to universal health organisations and the latest recommendations around the world. In Egypt, for instance, public education campaigns against the dangers of obesity have been launched which have been based on the latest findings of WHO regarding food choices. On the other hand, one evident merit which proves the necessity of personal choices without governmental intervention relates to medical reasons. In other words, in certain medical conditions, regularly do patients require a specific style of diet in order to override the complications of such an ailment. Patients, therefore, have to adjust their intake and opt for suitable choices, the thing that cannot be actualized by governmental intervention. An eminent example of this is diabetic patients who are obliged to cut sugar and carbohydrate intake as their bodies are not able to eliminate simple sugars from their bodies. From a physical perspective, civilians should be given the right to choose their preferable body shape. This is mainly due to the fact that what an individual is keen to consume usually reflects back on their appearance and physique. Bodybuilders, for instance, who choose to have such an iconic body image opt for a high-protein diet which helps them augment their solid muscles. Subsequently, any roles may be considered to be a violation of their rights of having a particular body appearance. In conclusion, despite the previously-mentioned benefits of authoritarian intervention on food options, I am convinced that individuals should be given the choice to adjust their intake for health and preference reasons.