Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

There are those who believe that the healthiest and friendliest mode of transportation is a bicycle, while in some countries the use of it, is disliked. I would argue that, the lack of awareness and absence of bicycle lanes on roads discourage people from using. To encourage them the community must be provided with proper education on its use and benefits to the body and environment. On one hand, the unpopularity of biking in some countries contributed to the absence of bikers lanes. The safety net of the bikers in the street is the special roads designed for bike users, hence, the unavailability discourages user and aspire to be. In the Philippines, for instance, for some time people showed interest in biking, even though no designed space for cyclists on the highways, however this was stopped because of a series of road accidents involving bikes being hit by a running vehicle. Putting-up bicycle lanes on the streets in the community will return the interest of many bikers. Another reason why biking is not famous is the lack of awareness of its benefits to our bodies and to the environment. The government should take part to promote the use of bikes, by educating people about their use from making a person physically fit, healthier and socially active. Apart from that since bikes do not require gasoline or diesel, they will not produce gas emission which is harmful to the environment. Like, in Singapore, most of their streets allocate small space for bikers only, thus enhancing people on bike usage. In conclusion, Cycling promotes a healthy body and protects the environment from carbon emissions. The unpopularity is due to the lack of awareness and safety. I would argue that, government participation to improve the road system and educating people about its use and benefits will further boost their interest to use bikes.