Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

It is certainly true that over the last few decades, individuals have started owning cars more than ever, and this has resulted in traffic congestion. This essay totally agrees with this statement, and will put forward several solutions to tackle this problem. There is no doubt that most major metropolises around the world suffer from traffic congestion and this is mainly due to the big number of cars in metropolitan areas, for example, it was reported that the number of vehicles roaming London daily is close to a million. Moreover, it was stated also that the sales of car companies have increased dramatically over the past thirty years, for instance, Peugeot in France has sold over 15 million automobiles of all types in the last 15 years. To address this, there are several potential approaches, and the most obvious one is that governments all over the world should prevent their citizens from buying new cars and that's by imposing new taxes on vehicle operators, for example, on the amount of time they use it on a daily basis; therefore, people would hesitate and think twice before purchasing an automobile. Furthermore, officials have to improve their public transport system so it would appear more appealing to local citizens, and to do that local councils have to repair roads, install new bus lanes as well as upgrade their buses. As a result, people would be comfortable using them and eventually opt for public transport for daily commuting. To conclude, As I have discussed, most urban areas throughout the world suffer indeed from traffic jams and steps need to be taken to prevent citizens from purchasing vehicles.