In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Presently, some parents have a tendency to tell their children to push to the limits of their potential in order to gain their dreams. This essay will elaborate on the benefits and drawbacks of giving such a message. On the one hand, it is crucial in upbringing children to encourage them to try hard to achieve their dreams. In other words, it will give them a sense of optimism and realize that hard work has a pivotal role in their future. Take Cristiano Ronaldo as an example, he has been becoming a mega star in his football career although he came from an unprivileged family. Due to his effort and hardworking as his lifestyle, he can achieve numerous awards in football. Therefore, giving this message can lead children to be more optimistic persons in the future. On the other hand, this message brings some drawbacks for children,particularly in terms of their mental health. This means that they can become fragile because of getting enforcement from their parents. For instance, many parents repeatedly told this message that eventually brings children frustration. The childhood period is the best time for them to play with peers and it is harmful to force them to be hard workers. As a result, even though this message is positive, it can destroy their personality since it forces them to do more both in their study and other activities. In conclusion, giving the message that offspring are hardworking kids is vividly debated. It has some benefits especially giving them an optimistic message as well as disadvantages in terms of deteriorating their mental health that parents should take into consideration.