Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

The more is the capablity of a society to be kind with the prisoners, the more is the capability to maintain and improve the rule of law. It is also very important in order to have a further international credibility talking about the civil rights all over the world. First of all, I understand all the sentiments one can prove seeing the worst criminals of our history: Totò Riina, Jeffrey Dahmer, Silvio Berlusconi. The hate is a human sentiment, the desire of their deaths it’s obviously a human reaction, but this cannot be the answer of a state. The greatness of a state is its capability to answer to the violence with a non-violent response, even knocking down in order to keep the authority witthout excesses. Consequently, I think being put behind bars it’s not the right way to reintroduce the prisoner into society, as our Constitution says. And in my honest opinion, it is not also a good idea constrinct prisoners doing unpaid community work because in this way we get worse their incapability to be economical indepent after the time passed in a such coercitive institution: we should pay them for their labour. In conclusion, in order to not paving the way to the possibility of the prisoner to commit another time a crime, or even commit suicide, because of his marginality and social position, we have the moral duty to accompany independently all the people that do the wrong thing. As the prisoner should brush up on how to be a good citizen, we should help him to do it as a whole state.